IPL Best Openers


Openers play a key role in setting the course of the game. Battling the swinging new ball at the initial part of the innings and in the meantime rising the run rate in the powerplay without losing wickets are the challenges faced by the openers. A good platform from the openers is vital for the middle order in order to capitalize upon them.

Here is a list of the top 5 openers in the history of IPL.


#5) Gautam Gambhir


The world cup hero for India in 2011 has been a consistent performer in IPL as well. Gambhir was even successful in leading Kolkata to two times IPL titles in the years 2012 and 2014. His watchful batting style was no doubt a nightmare to the bowlers.

Gautam Gambhir has scored a total of 4217 runs in IPL with an average of 31.23 and a decent strike rate of 123.88. He has 36 fifties to his name in the IPL.


#4) Shikhar Dhawan


This Indian is known for his elegance and consistency at the top of the order. Dhawan is a regular opener who has immense experience of opening for India in all formats of the game. Shikhar Dhawan has a command over that position since he has been an opener all these years.

Shikhar has scored a total of 4579 runs in the IPL so far with an average of 33.42 and a strike rate of 124.80. He has 37 fifties to his name and is yet to score a century.


#3) Rohit Sharma


Although he has not opened the innings every time he has come out to bat, we can’t ignore his opening skills. Rohit Sharma is one of the best openers in white-ball cricket the world has ever seen. Rohit is tough to contain when he gets going.

This Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna awardee has scored a total of 4989 runs in the IPL so far with an average of 31.60 and a strike rate of 130.82. Sharma has a century and 36 fifties to his name.


#2) Chris Gayle


Gayle has been a dashing opener in the IPL for every franchise he has played so far. This legendary Jamaican is known to win matches single-handedly if he gets going. The only miserable part of this legendary left-handed batsman is his consistency. Chris is a two-time orange cap winner. He has the record of the highest score in T-20 cricket for scoring 175*. Chris Gayle also has scored the fastest century in IPL by scoring a ton in just 30 balls.

This West Indian has a massive 4484 runs in his bag out of all the matches he has played in IPL. He has an astounding strike rate of over 150 with an average of 41.13. He has scored 6 centuries and 28 fifties in IPL so far.


#1) David Warner


His destructive innings at the top of the order set the tone for the middle order in order to capitalize on. Warner’s consistency as an opener is impeccable. Warner is a two-time orange cap winner in the history of IPL in the year 2017 and 2019.

David Warner has scored 4706 runs out of 126 matches which includes 4 centuries and 44 fifties. He has an amazing average of 43.17 with a whopping strike rate of 142.39. He also has the record of the highest number of fifties in the IPL.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *