List of Top 5 Fastest 50 Wickets in T20 Cricket.

T20, the shortest format of cricket, is another form of limited overs cricket other than the one days, which demands an inherent pace from the first ball of the match. With time it is turning out to be increasingly famous and more acceptable to the major population of the world because of its short duration and more entertainment. A typical Twenty20 game is completed around a period of three hours, with each innings lasting up to 90 minutes and an official 10 minutes break between the innings.

Today we are going to talk about the players who have taken the fastest 50 wickets in T20 cricket.


5. Yuzvendra Chahal


This Indian right arm leggie was a former chess player who has also represented India Internationally at the youth levels in chess. This master seems to invade his chess skills with the batsman present on the crease and hence in terms of wickets successfully stands on the 5th position of fastest 50 in T20. He made his T20 debut on 18th June 2016 against Zimbabwe. He took his 50th T20 wicket against Bangladesh in Nagpur on 10th November 2019. To reach this successful milestone Chahal took 3 years 145 days & played 34 matches. Yuzvendra Chahal has now sealed a permanent spot in the national side with consistent performance.


4. Mustafizur Rahman


Rahman made his international cricket debut in a Twenty20 international match against Pakistan in April 2015. This promising fast-medium pacer from Bangladesh stands fourth in taking the fastest 50 wickets in T20Is. He completed his 50 wickets stand against Zimbabwe in Chittagong on September 18, 2019. After playing 33 matches within a time of 4 years and 147 days, he successfully achieved this landmark. Mustafizur Rahman famously known as ‘Fizz’, has played 37 T20Is to date and promises to be a permanent contender in limited-overs cricket. He is brilliant and famous for his death bowling as he is truly efficient in bowling slowers and Yorkers.


3. Rashid Khan


This 21-year-old right arm leggie from Afghanistan is believed to be one of the best bowlers in T20 international currently and with his consistency has secured the 3rd spot in taking the quickest 50 wickets in T20. Along with the national side he is in, Rashid is playing almost all the T20 league cricket across the globe. Rashid Khan was born on 20th September 1998 in the city of Nangarhar in Afghanistan. He made his T20 international debut on 26th October 2015. He completed his 50 wickets on 3rd June 2018 against Bangladesh in Dehradun. To reach this landmark Rashid played 31 matches within 2 years and 220 days. Rashid Khan is an absolute gem and is truly efficient in turning the ball quickly through the air with immense variation throughout his spell.


2. Imran Tahir


The Pakistan-born South African cricketer is famously known as Imran Tahir. He was born on 27th March 1979 in the city of Lahore. This 41-year young cricketer made his T20 debut on 2nd August 2013 against Sri Lanka. Currently, he is playing limited-overs cricket only. This right-arm leg spinner from SA is famous for bowling his magical googlies to deceive the batsman. He completed his 50 wickets mark on 17th February 2017 against New Zealand in Auckland, after 3 years 199 days and 31 matches. He lags behind 5 matches from getting the first spot of taking the fastest 50 wickets in T20 cricket. 


1. Ajantha Mendis


Ajantha Mendis is a former Sri Lankan cricketer who played for his national side in all three formats. He was known as the “mystery spinner” due to his unusual bowling action and efficient bowling. Born on 11th March 1985 in the city of Moratuwa, Ajantha made his T20I debut at the age of 23, on 10th October 2008 against Zimbabwe. He has taken the fastest 50 wickets in T20I. It took him 26 matches after 3 years 360 days when he finally achieved it on 4th October 2012 in Colombo against Pakistan. He played his last T20 on 27th May 2014 against England. In August 2019, Mendis retired from all formats of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *