IPL Fastest Centuries


IPL has been a tournament of batsmen. Runs are scored plenty with bowlers leaking runs. Sixers and fours are the mainstays of the game. The absence of cheerleaders from IPL 2020 can be a hindrance for viewers who used to cheer the players and create enthusiasm during the game. The best thing is cricket is happening.

During the course of the game, the centuries and half centuries are the part and parcel of the game. There are quick-fire half-centuries that has changed the course of the game. On the other hand, there are centuries which changed the course of the season itself. Here are the fastest centuries in IPL.

List of Fastest Centuries in IPL:


#5) Manish Pandey vs DC (Year 2009)


The first-ever Indian to score a century in the Indian Premier League is Manish Pandey. The Karnataka batsman was on carnage against Deccan Chargers. Manish Pandey was promoted in the batting line-up and he sent the bowlers packing.

Aged 20 then, Manish Pandey scored 114 runs in 73 balls with 10 fours and four sixes. He batted at a strike rate of 156+, propelling RCB into the knockout stage of 209.


#4) Brendon McCullum vs RCB (Year 2008)


The opening of the cash-rich league was a crazy one. Nobody expected a huge turnout at M Chinnaswamy Stadium for the first match of the shortest format. However, the presence of stars on the opening day appealed to the fans to fill the seats.

The crowd wasn’t disappointed the way Brendon McCullum batted. In the first match, Brendon McCullum scored 158 and remained unbeaten in the first innings. His innings comprised 23 boundaries which had 13 sixes and 10 fours. The century not only decided the KKR’s victory but also the fate of the league.


#3) David Miller vs RCB (Year 2013)


There is a phrase in cricket. “Catches win matches”. And this game defined it. Batting first at Mohali, RCB put up a 200+ total. Chasing the target, Punjab lost five wickets for a mere 66 and RCB were all set for a victory.

However, David Miller had other plans. Virat Kohli had dropped the catch of David Miller and the player went on to utilize the life given. He scored a century in a flash making RCB to rue their chances. Miller scored 101 runs in just 38 deliveries bringing KXIP close to the target. Miller remained unbeaten and took home Punjab victoriously. David Miller played this fastest century in Year 2013.


#2) Virat Kohli vs KXIP (Year 2016)


It was a difficult season for Royal Challengers Bangalore till the game against Gujarat Lions. The team had to win every game to make it into the knockouts. RCB were up against KXIP at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in a rain-curtailed match. The match was reduced to 15 overs a side with RCB coming to bat first.

As expected, Virat Kohli and Chris Gayle started from the word go. What astonished the crowd was Kohli’s run-scoring nature despite an injury to his webbings. Kohli scored 113 runs from 50 deliveries at a strike rate of 225+. RCB piled up a 200+ total against KXIP which was always a daunting target to chase for Punjab.


#1) Chris Gayle vs PWI (Year 2013)


The highest score in the IPL, 175 not out, is one of the fastest centuries in the history of the IPL. On that day, no bowler apart from Bhuvneshwar Kumar was spared at M Chinnaswamy Stadium. The Jamaican went bonkers against Pune Warriors India after the catch was dropped on the first ball of the game.

During his way to 175, Chris had 13 fours and 17 maximums to his name. The player scored at a strike rate of 265.15 taking everyone to task. Ali Murtuza and Aaron Finch conceded at a run rate of 22.5 rpo and 29 rpo against Chris Gayle’s carnage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *