Hat-Trick in IPL


It is a very rare sight that bowler takes a hat-trick in cricket. Only 17 hat-tricks have been taken with more than 600 games, in 11 years of IPL history. With that being said, apart from in 2015 and 2018, we have had a hat-trick every year in the tournament. The Tamilnadu pacer Lakshmipathy Balaji acclaimed the first-ever hat-trick in the Indian Premier League. In 2008, he took the hattrick against Kings XI Punjab in the final over of the game. He counted for a five-wicket haul in that particular game.

Here are a few cricketers with the most hat-tricks in IPL history.


#2) Yuvraj Singh (2 Hat-Tricks)
Team: Kings XI Punjab


Yuvraj Singh who took two hat-tricks in a single year became the only player in the history of IPL to do so when playing for KXIP.

The 2nd season of the IPL, which took place in South Africa, Yuvi claimed the wickets of Robin Uthappa and Jacques Kallis in the final two balls of the 12th over. He was able to complete his hat-trick by taking the wicket of Mark Boucher in the initial ball of the 14th over. But, his hat-trick did not aid KXIP thrash RCB.

The renowned batsman claimed another hat-trick in the very same season when his team played against Deccan Chargers. He claimed the wickets of Herschelle Gibbs, Andrew Symonds and Venugopal Rao to total his hat-trick, thus serving KXIP to win a tight encounter.


#1) Amit Mishra (3 Hat-Tricks)
Teams: Delhi Daredevils, Deccan Chargers, Sunrisers Hyderabad


Amit Mishra who has the number 1 position on the list has taken a record three hat-tricks in IPL. Mishra was as well as just the second cricketer in the history of IPL to take a hat-trick.

When playing for Delhi Daredevils, he took the wickets of Ravi Teja, RP Singh and Pragyan Ojha of Deccan Chargers in the last over in 2008.

Amit Mishra took his 2nd hat-trick in 2011 were in 3rd, 4th and 5th balls he took the wickets of Ryan McLaren, Mandeep Singh and Ryan Harris of the 16th over respectively, giving his new team Deccan Chargers a comfortable win.

His third hat-trick was claimed for SRH against PWI in IPL 2013. In the 19th over, he dismissed the likes of Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rahul Sharma, and Ashok Dinda, and became the only bowler in the history of IPL to have three hat-tricks.



Note* 12 Players have picked one hattrick in the tournament history of 13 years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *