Most Entertaining Playoffs in IPL


The Indian Premier League is one of the top leagues in the world where all superstars of cricket play for different franchises with a high spirit. It’s a cash-rich league where all the franchises pour money on players. It’s considered as the toughest league in the world as all the cricketing giants face each other. There are many thrilling encounters that have happened over the years, which will be remembered for a long period.

Here are the top 5 playoff matches that cannot be forgotten where the teams have given their heart and soul in order to win and claim the title.


1. MI vs CSK Final (Year-2013)


As the pressure was intense Mumbai Indians won the toss and batted first. Although it was not a bowler-friendly track, it was not a high-scoring match, but it never failed the spectators to give the thrill. MI had scored 148/7 by the end of 20 overs. Kieron Pollard was the highest scorer with 41 runs in his bag.

In the second half, Shane Watson was playing an excellent knock at one end, but there was nobody to give him support as the wickets tumbled at another end. It all came down to the final over where CSK needed 9 off 7 balls. By that time, Malinga had gone for 42 and had even dropped a sitter. But his experience came handy under pressure. The field was set for a wide yorker but Malinga bowled a slower ball onto the pads of Shardul Thakur and deceived him, which ended up in a wicket and MI winning the title for the 4th time.


2. MI vs RPS Final (Year-2017)


Mumbai Indians was all set for a big match. There was equal support for both the teams. MI won the toss and had elected to bat first. Although Rising Pune Supergiant was a new team, they had gathered up well and had reached the finals. Jaydev Unadkat and the leggie Adam Zampa had bowled strict length and lines and had restricted powerful MI batting line up to 129/8 in 20 overs. Although Mumbai lost early wickets, Krunal Pandya dragged them to a respectable total.

RPS needed 11 off the last over. With Steve Smith and Manoj Tiwary in the crease, it was as easy as a hot knife through butter. But Smith’s country mate Mitchell Johnson had different plans by picking both Smith and Tiwary. Finally, after all the drama, RPS needed 4 of the last ball with Christian on strike which was not achieved and handed over MI the 3rd IPL title.


3. DC vs SRH Qualifier-1 (Year-2019)


Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) lost the toss and was put to bat first. Although both the captains told the pitch was slow, it was quite a high-scoring game. Martin Guptill went all in the power play as they knew the pitch would slow down in the middle over’s. They respected the spinners in the middle over’s and powered their way at the end of the innings to reach 162/8.

It was a good total considering the pitch and the bowling attack they had. But even Delhi Capitals (DC) opted for the same tactic and the opener Prithvi Shaw had given full throttle in the power play. But Kane Williamson made sure he pulled back the game by cleverly shuffling his bowlers. It all came down to the last over where Pant got out and DC needed 2 off 2 which was hit by Kemo Paul and finally, a cliffhanger ended with DC winning their first playoff in the history of IPL.


4. RR vs CSK Final (Year-2008)


Shane Warne, the captain of Rajasthan Royals (RR) won the toss and elected to field first. CSK had a steady inning throughout, but lost wickets at regular intervals. On the other hand, CSK. had never let the run rate down. With MS coming down the order, Chennai Super Kings finished strongly at 163/5 in 20 overs.

Yusuf Pathan who was excellent with the ball also showed his skills with the bat by stitching a crucial partnership with Watson. RR did not let the run rate skid off from their hands at any point in the game. It all came down to the last ball of the match where Sohail Tanvir pushed the ball towards mid-on and sealed the match and winning the first-ever title of IPL.


5. KXIP vs KKR Final (Year-2014)


Kings Eleven Punjab (KXIP) headed by George Bailey had performed tremendously in the season so far and had reached the finals by topping the table. They were against the 2012 champions KKR, who too had a winning momentum. By a super knock of 115 by Wriddhiman Saha KXIP reached 199 in 20 over’s. KKR started off well in the power play and had never lost hope in front of the mammoth total put against them.

Manish Pandey’s magnificent knock of 94 of 50 balls powered Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) to their second IPL title. It was a high-scoring match and the crowd was at the edge of the seat from the start with and no nails as the match ended.


First Line: IPL is not only known for its glamour and money but also for thrilling games. Super overs, no-ball catches and what not. Exciting and thrilling games were played in the history of the league.

Second Line: Here are the top five exciting and nail biting playoff fixtures. Finals are considered as it gained a lot of viewership.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *