Most Dot Balls in IPL

S.no. Teams PlayersDot Balls
1.harbhajan-singh-smallHarbhajan Singh1249 Balls
2.bhuvneshwar-kumar-smallBhuvneshwar Kumar1169 Balls
3.lasith-malinga-smallLasith Malinga1155 Balls 
4.piyush-chawla-smallPiyush Chawla1146 Balls
5.amit-mishra-smallAmit Mishra1128 Balls


Indian Premier League is known for its runs, boundaries, and maximums. The balls have flown over the boundary line on several instances and sometimes even out of the ground too. The sixes have stopped the traffic because of its humongous nature. However, there are players who have bowled the dot balls too. One can understand the importance of dot balls in the shortest format of white-ball cricket. If any bowler is able to bowl the dot balls continuously, his economy rate would be very low compared to his colleagues and counterparts.



In an entertaining league like the Indian Premier League, there have been bowlers who have made the life of big-hitting batsmen with their perfect line and length bowling. The pressure was built on them with the continuous spell of dot-balls. There have been examples of bowlers plucking five wickets for just five runs or giving six runs only in four overs. There have been bowlers too who have been able to remove the wickets and create additional pressure on the batting team with a great spell of bowling.



Harbhajan Singh, the first Indian to claim a hat-trick against Australia in India, is the bowler with the highest number of dot balls bowled in the Indian Premier League. The servant of the Indian Cricket Team for close to a decade and a half, Harbhajan Singh has played only for two franchises in the league history. Bowling at an economy rate of 7.05, Harbhajan Singh has bowled 1249 dot balls in 160 games. The bowler would have completed 1500 dot balls too if he had played the ongoing edition before pulling out of the tournament.



The second player on the list is Bhuvneshwar Kumar. The ace Indian fast bowler had the chance to eclipse Harbhajan Singh’s record in IPL 2020 before he was ruled out of the campaign due to injury in a game. The Indian fast bowler has 1164 dot balls to his name. He has played for several franchises like Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Pune Warriors India.



The list of top dot balls holders is equally dominated by spin bowlers and fast bowlers. The top 10 includes five pacers and five spinners. As the name of the league suggests, the list is also dominated by Indians than compared to the foreign recruits. The list comprises seven Indians whereas Lasith Malinga, Dale Steyn, and Sunil Narine are the only three imports.

Check the above-given list for top five dot ball holders in IPL.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *