Orange Cap Winners (Season-wise)

2008kings-xi-punjab-logo Shaun Marsh11616
2009 chennai-super-kings-logo  Matthew Hayden
2010mumbai-indians-logo  Sachin Tendulkar
2011royal-challengers-bangalore-logo Chris Gayle
2012royal-challengers-bangalore-logo Chris Gayle
2013chennai-super-kings-logo  Michael Hussey
2014kolkata-knight-riders-logo Robin Uthappa
2015sunrisers-hyderabad-logo  David Warner14562
2016royal-challengers-bangalore-logo Virat Kohli
2017sunrisers-hyderabad-logo  David Warner
2018sunrisers-hyderabad-logo  Kane Williamson
2019sunrisers-hyderabad-logo  David Warner

Orange Cap Winners in IPL History


IPL is undoubtedly batsman’s favorite game. Not only in IPL but in the whole of T-20 cricket, the limelight will always be on the batsmen. Because of the increasing trend in fitness, bat thickness, batting-friendly grounds cricket has evolved over the years to become a batsman’s game. IPL awards the batsman with most runs with an orange cap every year.


#5) Shaun Marsh (Season- 2008)


Shaun Marsh was a blasting opener for Punjab in the opening season of the IPL. He was a very consistent performer at the top of the order and got Punjab to a good start every time he played. Shaun Marsh was Orange Cap winner in Year 2008.

Shaun Marsh helped his team Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) to reach the semi-finals with his amazing consistent performance by scoring 616 runs in just 11 matches with an average of 68.44 and a strike rate of 139.68. He had hit 5 fifties and a hundred to gain the orange cap with the highest score of 115. He had smashed 59 fours and 26 sixes in that season.


#4) Michael Hussey (Season- 2013)


Chennai Super Kings is one of the most successful teams in the IPL. They have qualified for the playoffs in every season they have played, which s the legacy they bring into the tournament. ‘Mr. Cricket’ was so consistent in 2013 for CSK and bagged the orange cap though they lost in the finals against Mumbai Indians. Michael Hussey was Orange Cap winner in Year 2013.

He scored 733 runs in 17 matches with an average of 52.35 and a strike rate of 129.5. his run in that season included 6 fifties with a highest score of 95. His 733 runs were hit with a help of 81 fours and 17 sixes.


#3) Virat Kohli (Season- 2016)


Virat has played all the seasons of IPL to one and only team RCB. For many years Kohli has many records to his name in world cricket and this orange cap just added a gem to his crown. He is an exceptional timer of the cricket ball. He captained the side and toiled hard to bring his team to the finals which RCB lost by a close margin. Virat Kohli was Orange Cap winner in Year 2016.

He scored 973 runs in 16 matches with an amazing average of 81.08 and a strike rate of 152.03. This is by far the highest runs and average in IPL’s history. This included 7 fifties and 4 hundred, which by far is the most hundreds hit in a single season of IPL. His 973 runs included 83 fours and 38 sixes with the highest score of 113.


#2) Chris Gayle (Season- 2011 & 2012)


This powerful West Indian is a 2-time orange cap winner in the IPL. Both the orange caps came when he played for RCB. We can say he just changed the course of the game by hitting those massive sixes. His boundaries would reach the ropes in a flash. He is one of the best T-20 players the world has seen so far. Chris Gayle was Orange Cap winner in Year 2011 and 2012.

He scored 733 runs in 16 matches with an average of 61.08 and a blistering strike rate of 160.74. His 733 runs included 7 fifties and a hundred. He had smashed 46 fours and 59 sixes which is by far the highest number of sixes scored in a single season. Chris had the highest score of 128 in that season.


#1) David Warner (Season- 2015, 2017 & 2019)


This pocket dynamo from Australia is a mind-blogging batsman who has been an integral part of Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). He captained SRH and helped them in lifting the title in 2016. He is also one of the 2 batsmen who is a two-time orange cap winner. He gained his first orange cap in the year 2017 and the next one came in 2019. David Warner was Orange Cap winner in Years 2015, 2017, and 2019.

H scored 692 runs in 12 matches with an amazing average of 69.2 and a strike rate of 143.87. his 692 runs included 8 fifties and a hundred with the highest score of 100*. He had scored 57 fours and 21 sixes in that season. SRH has consecutively conquered the orange cap for 3 years since 2017.


Let see who will be next IPL Orange Cap Winner?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *