Purple Cap Winners (Season-wise)

Season Player Match Wickets
2008 rajasthan-royals-logo Sohail Tanvir 11 22
2009 deccan-chargers-logo RP Singh 16 23
2010 deccan-chargers-logo Pragyan Ojha 16 21
2011 mumbai-indians-logo Lasith Malinga 16 28
2012 delhi-daredevils-logo Morne Morkel 16 25
2013 chennai-super-kings-logo Dwane Bravo 18 32
2014 chennai-super-kings-logo Mohit Sharma 16 23
2015 chennai-super-kings-logo Dwyane Bravo 16 26
2016 sunrisers-hyderabad-logo Bhuvneshwar Kumar 17 23
2017 sunrisers-hyderabad-logo Bhuvneshwar Kumar 14 26
2018 kings-xi-punjab-logo Andrew Tye 14 24
2019 chennai-super-kings-logo Imran Tahir 17 26

Purple Cap Winners in IPL History


Although IPL is dominated by batsmen, bowlers have never failed to tease and trick the batsmen to pick their wickets. With their headbanging bouncers and toe crushing yorkers, bowlers have always taunted the batsmen. Though Indian pitches are spinner friendly it’s always the pacers who have taken the purple cap most of the time.


#5) Morne Morkel (Season- 2012)


This tall lad from South Africa created fear in every batsman’s mind from his bouncers. Despite his heroic efforts with the ball, Delhi could not reach the finals.

Morne Morkel had picked up 25 matches out of the 16 matches he played for Delhi. He had an average of 18.12 with an economy of 7.19. He also had a strike rate of 15.1 and a 4 wicket haul in that tournament.


#4) Imran Tahir (Season- 2019)


This South African is known for his celebrations as he runs around the park with his hands spread after every wicket he takes. Tahir is one of the few spinners to be featured in the list of purple cap winners. His googly and flighted deliveries are his trump cards.

Imran Tahir had picked up 26 wickets out of the 17 matches he played for CSK. He has a very good strike rate and economy.


#3) Lasith Malinga (Season- 2011)


Lasith Malinga is one of the legends of the game and is an inspiration to many young talents. His slinging action, toe crushing Yorkers and slower deliveries have always created problems to even the best of the batsman. He is an integral part of Mumbai Indians over the years and has helped them win games with his excellent bowling skills.

Malinga had picked up 28 wickets out of the 16 matches he played. He had an average of 13.39 and an economy below 6 which is a rare feat in T-20 cricket. Malinga had a strike rate of 13.5 and also had picked a 5 wicket haul in that season of IPL.


#2) Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Season- 2016 & 2017)


Bhuvneshwar Kumar with his clean action has been a boon for Sunrisers Hyderabad over the years. He is the only bowler to conquer the purple cap for 2 consecutive years.

Bhuvi had picked up 26 wickets out of the 14 matches he played for SRH. He had an amazing average of 14.19 and an economy of 7.05. he also had a strike rate of 12 and a 5 wicket haul in that season.


#1) Dwayne Bravo (Season- 2013 & 2015)


Dwayne Bravo has evolved as one of the best all-rounders in world cricket and also as a T-20 specialist. He bowls at all stages of the game. He has done wonders for CSK over the years. He is also a two-time purple cap winner in IPL.

Bravo picked up 32 wickets out of the 18 matches he played with a very low average of 15.53. He had an economy of 7.95 and a strike rate of 11.7. This is a fantastic economy keeping in mind that Bravo bowls at all stages of the game including death. Bravo had also picked up a 4 wicket haul in that season.


Let see who will be next IPL Purple Cap Winner?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *