Australia National Cricket Team


Full Name: Australia National Cricket Team
Nick Name: Aussies
Founded: 1905
Ground: Melbourne Cricket Ground

Team Owner: Cricket Australia

Captain: Aaron Finch (ODI & T20I), Tim Paine (Test)
Coach: Graeme Hick


Australia National Cricket Team is the representative of international cricket of men in Australia. They are one of the torchbearers of the game across the globe and are the oldest team to play cricket along with England. Australia played the first-ever test match against England in 1877. Australia draws its plates from the talented pool from Sheffield United and Big Bash League.

Till date, Australia has played 940+ ODI matches, 830+ test matches and 120+ T20 internationals with a win percentage above 50%. The team has won a record five times and has entered finals for the record seven teams since the World Cups’ inception. They also have Champions Trophy title for a record two times as they achieved it in 2006 and 2009.

Australia holds the record of 1000+ victories in international cricket. They achieved the feat when they defeated India in January 2019.


Board Members: Australia Cricket has a strongly built structure when it comes to its board. The decision of the board is binding on all the zones of Australia and they also take care of the domestic tournaments held across the continent. The board works independently and has nine members. All eight members work in the interest of the national cricket development and report to the head.

The Board Members are as follows:
– Earl Eddings (Chairman)
– Paul Green (Deputy Chairman)
– John Harnden AM (Chief Executive Officer)
– Dr. Lachlan Henderson (Group Chief Executive)
– Jacquie Hey (Non-Executive Director)
– Richard Freudenstein (Director)
– Michelle Tredenick
– Mel Jones OAM


Team Captain: Since the departure of Michael Clarke and Ricky Pointing, Australia has followed the pattern of different captains for different formats of the game. Since the sandpaper gate, Aaron Finch is the Australian skipper for the limited-overs format whereas Tim Paine is the captain for Test matches. Australian speedster, Pat Cummins is the vice-captain across all the formats for the team who is deputed to look after the team in the absence of Aaron Finch or Tim Paine.


Team Coach: The signs of a strong side lie in their pattern of appointing their coaches. Australian men’s cricket team is coached by several greats of the game. The former English cricketer, Graeme Hick is the batting coach whereas Adam Griffith and Troy Cooley look after the bowling department in ODI and Test cricket respectively. The former Australian wicket-keeper batsman, Brad Haddin is their fielding coach and the whole squad is mentored by Steve Waugh.


Support Staff: Australia cricket has one of the best-supporting staff across the globe. Belinda Clark is the performance manager for the Kangaroos whereas Aaron Kellet looks after the strengthening and physical conditioning aspect of the players. David Beakley and Richard Saw are the physios to look after the on and off-field emergencies of the squad.


Jersey: Australia has always been seen either in yellow or shades of green with various designs. However, one thing has been in common with their jersey. The kangaroo symbol has been a constant throughout their cricket history.

On the other hand, Cricket Australia has a different jersey for T20 Internationals. They wear dark green with a yellow pattern shirt alongside black trousers. Until the beginning of the 2000s, Australia had yellow helmets for ODIs and green helmets in test cricket.


Trophies & Awards

Years Trophy/ Award Final Match
1987 ICC Cricket World Cup vs England
1999 ICC Cricket World Cup vs Pakistan
2003 ICC Cricket World Cup vs India
2006 ICC Champions Trophy vs West Indies
2007 ICC Cricket World Cup vs Sri Lanka
2009 ICC Champions Trophy vs New Zealand
2015 ICC Cricket World Cup vs New Zealand

Current Australia Cricket Team

justin-langerJustin LangerAustraliaHead Coach
mitchell-starcMitchell StarcAustraliaBowler
mike-youngMike YoungAustraliaFielding Coach
troy-cooleyTroy CooleyAustraliaBowling Coach
trent-woodhillTrent WoodhillAustraliaBatting Coach
sridharan-sriramSridharan SriramAustraliaAssistant Coach
andrew-mcdonaldAndrew McDonaldAustraliaSenior Assistant Coach
adam-zampaAdam ZampaAustraliaBowler
matthew-wadeMatthew WadeAustraliaWicket keeper
kane-richardsonKane RichardsonAustraliaBowler
jhye-richardsonJhye RichardsonAustraliaBatsman
james-pattinsonJames PattinsonAustraliaBowler
tim-paineTim PaineAustraliaWicket keeper
david-warnerDavid WarnerAustraliaBatsman
steve-smithSteve SmithAustraliaBatsman
mitchell-marshMitchell MarshAustraliaAll-rounder
nathan-lyonNathan LyonAustraliaBowler
marnus-labuschagneMarnus LabuschagneAustraliaBatsman
travis-headTravis HeadAustraliaBatsman
josh-hazlewoodJosh HazlewoodAustraliaBowler
aaron-finchAaron FinchAustraliaBatsman
glenn-maxwellGlenn MaxwellAustraliaAll-rounder
alex-careyAlex CareyAustraliaWicket keeper
joe-burnsJoe BurnsAustraliaBatsman
pat-cumminsPat CumminsAustraliaBowler
ashton-agarAshton AgarAustraliaBowler
richard-sawRichard SawAustraliaPhysiotherapist

ICC Test Ranking 2020