Bangladesh National Cricket Team


Full Name: Bangladesh National Cricket Team
Nick Name: The Tigers
Founded: 2000
Ground: Bangabandhu National Stadium

Team Owner: Bangladesh Cricket Board

Captain: Tamim Iqbal (ODI), Mominul Haque (Test), Mahmudullah (T20I)
Coach: Russell Domingo


Popularly known as Tigers, Bangladesh National Cricket Team represents Bangladesh in international cricket circuit. They are one of the full members of ICC in all the three formats of the game. Bangladesh became the test country when they played their first-ever test cricket in 2000 against India at Dhaka. Bangladesh played their first-ever ODI in 1986 whereas they started their 20-over game alongside the giants of the cricket.

The journey of Bangladesh cricket has been incredible since its inception. They changed the football-loving nation into a cricket-loving nation in the post-1990 era. Their victory against India in 2007 World Cup at West Indies sent a shock wave across the globe. Since then, Bangladesh is considered as a serious contender in multiple ICC tournaments.

Compared to test cricket, Bangladesh is more successful in ODIs. They have won 124 games out of 367 games. Also, they have won 26 T20 Internationals out of 85 games. In 2017, Bangladesh completed their 100th test game when they locked their horns with Sri Lanka.


Board Members: Soon after their independence from Pakistan in 1971, Bangladesh Cricket Board was established in 1972. The headquarters is located in its capital, Dhaka. Bangladesh Cricket Board is responsible for the operation and development of cricket, maintenance of venues, and selection for the national team. BCB attained the ICC associate membership in 1977 and attained full member status on 26th June 2020.

– BCB President: Nazmul Hassan (acting)
– BCB CEO: Nizam Uddin Chowdhury
– BCB Director: Syed Asfaqul Islam
– BCB Director: S.K Sohel
– BCB Director: Kazi Inam Ahmed
– BCB Director: Mohammad Jalal Yunus


Team Captain: The Tigers follow the three different captains for three different formats of the game in international cricket. The talented Mominul Haque is the test skipper for the Bangladesh team whereas the left-handed batsman, Tamim Iqbal is the captain of the One Day team.

The allrounder, who can roll his arms whenever required apart from scoring heavily in the fag end of the innings, Mahmudullah is the captain of Bangladesh for the shortest format of the game.


Team Coach: Russell Craig Domingo is the head coach of the Bangladesh Cricket team. Former South African batsman, Neil Mckenzie is the batting coach of Tigers. Charles Kenneth Langeveldt looks after the bowling at Dhaka. Bangladesh has recently seen a tremendous rise in their fielding attributes. This can be attributed to Ryan Cook who is the fielding coach of Bangladesh.


Support Staff: Being a country where humidity is at its peak, the team requires an eminent physician. The physio role is perfectly taken care of by Dr. Debashish Roy Chowdhary. Julian Calefato is the Physiotherapist of the Bangladesh cricket team.


Team Jersey: Bangladesh Cricket team has worn the shades of dark green in the past decade. The prominent feature of their jersey is the roaring tiger which is found above the chest. Also, they have emboldened their country name in the middle of the jersey. During Champions Trophy 2019, the team had worn the dark red with less amount of green on their jersey.

Current Bangladesh Cricket Team

shakib-al-hasanShakib Al HasanBangladesh Cricket TeamAll-rounder
russell-domingoRussell DomingoBangladesh Cricket TeamHead Coach
neil-mckenzieNeil McKenzieBangladesh Cricket TeamBatting Coach
ottis-gibsonOttis GibsonBangladesh Cricket TeamBowling Coach
daniel-vettoriDaniel VettoriBangladesh Cricket TeamBowling Coach
defult-playerSohel IslamBangladesh Cricket TeamFielding Coach
julian-calefatoJulian CalefatoBangladesh Cricket TeamPhysiotherapist
tamim-iqbalTamim IqbalBangladesh Cricket TeamLeft Handed Batsman
imrul-kayesImrul KayesBangladesh Cricket TeamLeft Handed Batsman
soumya-sarkarSoumya SarkarBangladesh Cricket TeamLeft Handed Batsman
shadman-islamShadman IslamBangladesh Cricket TeamLeft Handed Batsman
mohammad-naimMohammad NaimBangladesh Cricket TeamLeft Handed Batsman
nazmul-hossain-shantoNazmul Hossain ShantoBangladesh Cricket TeamLeft Handed Batsman
sabbir-rahmanSabbir RahmanBangladesh Cricket TeamRight Handed Batsman
mominul-haqueMominul HaqueBangladesh Cricket TeamLeft Handed Batsman
mushfiqur-rahimMushfiqur RahimBangladesh Cricket TeamWicket keeper
mohammad-mithunMohammad MithunBangladesh Cricket TeamWicket keeper
liton-dasLiton DasBangladesh Cricket TeamWicket keeper
mashrafe-mortazaMashrafe MortazaBangladesh Cricket TeamAll-rounder
mahmudullahMahmudullahBangladesh Cricket TeamAll-rounder
afif-hossainAfif HossainBangladesh Cricket TeamAll-rounder
mosaddek-hossainMosaddek HossainBangladesh Cricket TeamAll-rounder
mohammad-saifuddinMohammad SaifuddinBangladesh Cricket TeamAll-rounder
mehidy-hasan-mirazMehidy Hasan MirazBangladesh Cricket TeamAll-rounder
rubel-hossainRubel HossainBangladesh Cricket TeamFast Bowler
abu-jayedAbu JayedBangladesh Cricket TeamFast Bowler
taskin-ahmedTaskin AhmedBangladesh Cricket TeamFast Bowler
mustafizur-rahmanMustafizur RahmanBangladesh Cricket TeamFast Bowler
abu-hiderAbu HiderBangladesh Cricket TeamFast Bowler
ebadot-hossainEbadot HossainBangladesh Cricket TeamFast Bowler
taijul-islamTaijul IslamBangladesh Cricket TeamSpin Bowler
nayeem-hasanNayeem HasanBangladesh Cricket TeamSpin Bowler

ICC Test Ranking 2020