England National Cricket Team


Full Name: England National Cricket Team
Nick Name: English Team
Founded: 1877
Ground: The Oval

Team Owner: England & Wales Cricket Board

Captain: Joe Root (Test), Eoin Morgan (ODI & T20I)
Coach: Marcus Trescothick, Graham Thorpe


England and Wales in international cricket are represented as England cricket team since 1903. England was once governed by Marylebone Cricket Club and currently, they are governed by England Cricket Board. England is one of the founders of the game along with Australia and has a membership status of all the three formats of the game.

Until countries like Scotland and Ireland had got the international status, they played under the England umbrella. England and Australia played the first-ever test cricket match back in 1877 and formed an Imperial Cricket Conference, the old day International Cricket Council.

Till date, England has played 1000+ Test matches, 740+ ODIs and 110+ T20 Internationals.


Board Members: The official operations across England and Wales is looked after by England and Wales Cricket Board which has its existence since 1997. The board was created in order to fulfill the need for a unified body to promote cricket and develop talent across England.

England Cricket Board looks after schools, juniors and youth, disabilities cricket, representative, first-class and international cricket. In other words, they look after the game from a primitive level to the international test arena.

The Board Members are as follows:
– Colin Graves (Chairman)
– Tom Harrison (CEO)
– The Lord Patel (Senior Independent Non-Execuitve Director)
– Delia Bushell (Independent Non-Executive Director)
– Brenda Trenowden (Independent Non-Executive Director)
– Lucy Pearson (Cricket Non-Executive Director)
– Jim Wood (Non-Executive Director)


Team Captain: England has followed the policy of different captains for different formats of the game. They have continued the tradition with the modern-day players too as they have Joe Root and Eoin Morgan as their captains.

One of the members of fab-four, Joe Root is the skipper of England national test cricket team whereas Eoin Morgan looks after the limited-overs format. Under Eoin Morgan, England won their first-ever ODI World Cup in 2019.


Team Coach: England Cricket has not only followed the policy of different captains but also different coaches for different formats of the game. Marcus Trescothick, the former English opener is the batting coach in test cricket whereas Graham Thorpe looks after the batting contingent in T20I and ODI.

One of the electric fielders on the pitch in the past, Paul Collingwood is the fielding coach for the “Three Lions”. Chris Silverwood and Saqlain Mushtaq look after the pace and spin department respectively in bowling. Phil Scott has been recently named as Strength and Conditioning coach of England national team.


Team Jersey: England is seen wearing the red jersey for the shortest format of the game, i.e, T20. On the other hand, England has always worn the shades of blue in 50 over format. The current day England ODI jersey has light blue on top with dark shades on the sides. They have also worn dark blue jersey with red on its sides in the past.


Trophies & Awards

Years Trophy/ Award Final Match
2010 ICC World Twenty20 vs Australia
2019 ICC Cricket World Cup vs New Zealand

Current England Cricket Team

james-andersonJames AndersonEnglandBowler1
joe-rootJoe RootEnglandBatsman1
chris-woakesChris WoakesEnglandAll-rounder1
moeen-aliMoeen AliEnglandAll-rounder1
ben-stokesBen StokesEnglandAll-rounder1
marcus-trescothickMarcus TrescothickEnglandBatting Coach0
graham-thorpeGraham ThorpeEnglandBatting Coach0
paul-collingwoodPaul CollingwoodEnglandFielding Coach0
chris-silverwoodChris SilverwoodEnglandBowling Coach0
jonny-bairstowJonny BairstowEnglandWicket keeper0
stuart-broadStuart BroadEnglandBowler0
rory-burnsRory BurnsEnglandBatsman0
jos-buttlerJos ButtlerEnglandWicket keeper0
sam-curranSam CurranEnglandAll-rounder0
joe-denlyJoe DenlyEnglandAll-rounder0
eoin-morganEoin MorganEnglandBatsman0
jofra-archerJofra ArcherEnglandBowler0
saqlain-mushtaqSaqlain MushtaqEnglandBowling Coach1
adil-rashidAdil RashidEnglandBowler0
jason-royJason RoyEnglandBatsman0
mark-woodMark WoodEnglandBowler0
tom-curranTom CurranEnglandAll-rounder0
jack-leachJack LeachEnglandBowler0
tom-bantonTom BantonEnglandBatsman0
zak-crawleyZak CrawleyEnglandBatsman0
liam-livingstoneLiam LivingstoneEnglandBatsman0
dawid-malanDawid MalanEnglandBatsman0
ollie-popeOllie PopeEnglandBatsman0
dominic-sibleyDominic SibleyEnglandBatsman0
james-vinceJames VinceEnglandBatsman0
sam-billingsSam BillingsEnglandWicket keeper0
lewis-gregoryLewis GregoryEnglandAll-rounder0
david-willeyDavid WilleyEnglandAll-rounder0
matt-parkinsonMatt ParkinsonEnglandBowler0
dom-bessDom BessEnglandBowler0
pat-brownPat BrownEnglandBowler0
chris-jordanChris JordanEnglandBowler0
saqib-mahmoodSaqib MahmoodEnglandBowler0
craig-overtonCraig OvertonEnglandBowler0
ollie-robinsonOllie RobinsonEnglandAll-rounder0
reece-topleyReece TopleyEnglandBowler0

ICC Test Ranking 2020