Indian National Cricket Team


Full Name: India National Cricket Team
Nick Name: Team India
Founded: 1926
Ground: Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium Dharamshala

Team Owner: Board of Control of Cricket in India

Captain: Virat Kohli
Coach: Ravi Shastri


The colonial regime had its say in the development of cricket in India. As British India, the Indian team played its first-ever Test match in 1932. Since then, India has come a long way in cricket, winning multiple trophies, awards, breaking multiple records and developing exceptional talents.


Board Members: The Board plays an important role in any sport. The Board of Cricket Control in India (BCCI) looks after all the on and off the field activities of Indian Cricket team. BCCI also looks after the domestic tournaments like Ranji Trophy, Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 trophy along with Vijay Hazare Tournament. It also finds the talent to support the growth of the team. BCCI is situated in Mumbai.

The Board Members are as follows:
Sourav Ganguly (President)
– Mahim Verma (Vice-President)
– Jay Shah (Secretary)
– Jayesh George (Joint Secretary)
– Arun Singh Dhumal (Treasurer)
– Prabhtej Singh Bhatia (Councillor)


Team Captain: Indian team is led by the talented and generational talent, Virat Kohli. Virat Kohli has led the side to multiple victories like first ever test series win in Australia, test victories in England, finals of multiple tournament finals.


Team Coaches: Indian National Team is coached by eminent former Indian cricketer, Ravi Shastri. Vikram Rathour is the newly appointed batting coach in 2019 whereas Bharat Arun and R Shridhar are the bowling and fielding coaches respectively.


Team Support Staff: Indian Team is managed by Mr. Girish Dongre in all the tournaments. The Strengthening and physical conditioning of the Indian Cricket players are looked after by Nick Webb. The on-field emergencies are treated by Nitin Patel, the physio of the Indian National Team.


Team Jersey: Indian team jersey is sponsored by the ed-tech industry giants, Byjus. India has been wearing the blue colours since its inception. Apart from wearing the orange shade jersey in ICC World Cup 2019, it is always the shades of blue that are situated with Indian national team.


Trophies & Awards

Years Trophy/ Award Final Match
1983 ICC Cricket World Cup vs West Indies
1984 Asia Cup vs Pakistan
1985 World Championship of Cricket vs Pakistan
1988 Asia Cup vs Sri Lanka
1990/91 Asia Cup vs Sri Lanka
1993 Hero Cup vs West Indies
1995 Asia Cup vs Sri Lanka
2002 ICC Champions Trophy vs Sri Lanka
2007 ICC T20 World Cup vs Pakistan
2010 Asia Cup vs Sri Lanka
2011 ICC Cricket World Cup vs Sri Lanka
2013 ICC Champions Trophy vs England
2016 Asia Cup (T20I) vs Bangladesh
2018 Asia Cup vs Bangladesh

Current India Cricket Team

washington-sundarWashington SundarIndiaAll-rounder1
shreyas-iyerShreyas IyerIndiaBatsman1
ramakrishnan-sridharRamakrishnan SridharIndiaFielding Coach1
bharat-arunBharat ArunIndiaBowling Coach1
vikram-rathourVikram RathourIndiaBatting Coach1
ravi-shastriRavi ShastriIndiaHead Coach1
navdeep-sainiNavdeep SainiIndiaBowler1
deepak-chaharDeepak ChaharIndiaBowler1
umesh-yadavUmesh YadavIndiaBowler1
bhuvneshwar-kumarBhuvneshwar KumarIndiaBowler1
mohammed-shamiMohammed ShamiIndiaBowler1
jasprit-bumrahJasprit BumrahIndiaBowler1
yuzvendra-chahalYuzvendra ChahalIndiaBowler1
kuldeep-yadavKuldeep YadavIndiaBowler1
kedar-jadhavKedar JadhavIndiaAll-rounder1
ravichandran-ashwinRavichandran AshwinIndiaBowler1
shardul-thakurShardul ThakurIndiaAll-rounder1
ravindra-jadejaRavindra JadejaIndiaAll-rounder1
hardik-pandyaHardik PandyaIndiaAll-rounder1
wriddhiman-sahaWriddhiman SahaIndiaWicket keeper1
cheteshwar-pujaraCheteshwar PujaraIndiaBatsman1
kl-rahulKL RahulIndiaBatsman1
rishabh-pantRishabh PantIndiaWicket keeper1
prithvi-shawPrithvi ShawIndiaBatsman1
ajinkya-rahaneAjinkya RahaneIndiaBatsman1
mayank-agarwalMayank AgarwalIndiaBatsman1
shikhar-dhawanShikhar DhawanIndiaBatsman1
rohit-sharmaRohit SharmaIndiaBatsman1
amit-mishraAmit MishraIndiaRight arm Legbreak, Right Handed Batsman1
ishant-sharmaIshant SharmaIndiaBowler1
virat-kohliVirat KohliIndiaBatsman1
manish-pandeyManish PandeyIndiaBatsman1
Shubman GillShubman GillIndiaBatsman1

ICC Test Ranking 2020