West Indies National Cricket Team


Full Name: West Indies National Cricket Team
Nick Name: Windies
Founded: 1928
Ground: Oval Barbados

Team Owner: West Indies Cricket Board

Captain: Jason Holder (Test), Kieron Pollard (ODI & T20I)
Coach: Phil Simmons


One of the talented teams in cricket, West Indies are the two time World Cup champions from the past. They registered their World Cup victories in 1975 and 1979. Apart from winning the World Cups, West Indies are one of the teams apart from Australia and India, to dominate the game for a brief spell of time.

West Indies cricket has seen a bunch of great players throughout their history. Sir Vivian Richards, Curtly Ambrose, Brian Lara are just a few names to mention. Brian Lara holds the national team records for the Caribbean outfit. He is the top scorer for West Indies side in ODI and Test cricket whereas the T20 International record is held by Chris Gayle.

In terms of bowling, West Indies has seen the likes of Courtney Walsh, Malcolm Marshall and Curtly Ambrose who were the nightmare for opposite teams. Courtney Walsh owns the record in both ODI and Test Cricket as the highest wicket taker for the side.

The Caribbean team looked like they missed their track during the 2000s-2010s but the arrival of the shortest format of the game rejuvenated their cricket back. The West Indian players form the backbone of cash-rich domestic leagues across the globe.


Board Members: The West Indies Cricket Board joined the cricket’s governing body called the Imperial Cricket Council in 1926. The team played the first unofficial cricket match in 1928 under Cricket West Indies. Since then, Cricket West Indies is looking after all the cricket, including both professional and amateur cricket, along with managing the operations of the West Indies international team.
Also, Cricket West Indies conducts the international and domestic competitions like 4-Days and one day Super50 Cup.

The Cricket West Indies lead, inspire and unite cricket in the West Indies from grassroot level and ensure the sustainable success in the Islands.

  1. Mr. Richard Ricky’ Skerritt, President, CWI
  2. Dr. Kishore Shallow, Vice President,
  3. Mr. Calvin Hope, Vice President, Barbados Cricket Association
  4. Mr. Conde’ Riley, President, Barbados Cricket Association
  5. Mr. Wilford Heaven, President, Jamaica Cricket Association
  6. Mr. Julian Charles, Director, Windward Islands Cricket Board of Control
  7. Mr. Imran McSood-Amjad, Independent Director
  8. Mr. Michael Findlay, Independent Director
  9. Mr. Arjoon Ramlal, Secretary, Trinidad & Tobago Cricket Board
  10. Mr. Denrick Liburd, President, Nevis Cricket Association
  11. Mr. Denrick Liburd, President, Nevis Cricket Association


Team Captain: West Indies team is ably led by the likes of Jason Holder in the longest format of the game along with ODI format. On the other hand, Carlos Braithate, the main allrounder behind the T20 World Cup 2016 triumph, leads the team from front in the shortest format of the game.


Team Coach: The West Indies team is ably coached by their legendary player, Phil Simmons. Further Cricket West Indies recently appointed Roddy Estwick, former Barbados player. They also appointed Trevor Penney as the new assistant coach who has signed a two-year deal for test match purposes.Toby Radford takes care of batting duties of West Indies men team.


Jersey: West Indies have always worn the dark red jersey in limited overs cricket. Their jersey consists of the traditional tree of West Indies with wickets, resembling the CWC 2007 logo. The West Indies jersey has seen the golden yellow in the front for a while with red on the borders.

There has been a jersey where West Indies have worn the red in the main colour with grey on the sleeves. The same jersey also consisted of green and golden yellow with them.

Current West Indies Cricket Team

kieron-pollardKieron PollardWest IndiesAll-rounder
jason-holderJason HolderWest IndiesAll-rounder
kraigg-brathwaiteKraigg BrathwaiteWest IndiesWicket keeper
shai-hopeShai HopeWest IndiesWicket keeper
nicholas-pooranNicholas PooranWest IndiesWicket keeper
john-campbellJohn CampbellWest IndiesBatsman
lendl-simmonsLendl SimmonsWest IndiesBatsman
evin-lewisEvin LewisWest IndiesBatsman
brandon-kingBrandon KingWest IndiesBatsman
sunil-ambrisSunil AmbrisWest IndiesBatsman
shamarh-brooksShamarh BrooksWest IndiesBatsman
rovman-powellRovman PowellWest IndiesBatsman
darren-bravoDarren BravoWest IndiesBatsman
shane-dowrichShane DowrichWest IndiesWicket keeper
jahmar-hamiltonJahmar HamiltonWest IndiesWicket keeper
denesh-ramdinDenesh RamdinWest IndiesWicket keeper
carlos-brathwaiteCarlos BrathwaiteWest IndiesAll-rounder
roston-chaseRoston ChaseWest IndiesAll-rounder
fabian-allenFabian AllenWest IndiesAll-rounder
dwayne-bravoDwayne BravoWest IndiesAll-rounder
andre-russellAndre RussellWest IndiesAll-rounder
alzarri-josephAlzarri JosephWest IndiesFast Bowler
rahkeem-cornwallRahkeem CornwallWest IndiesFast Bowler
sheldon-cottrellSheldon CottrellWest IndiesFast Bowler
shannon-gabrielShannon GabrielWest IndiesFast Bowler
kemar-roachKemar RoachWest IndiesFast Bowler
oshane-thomasOshane ThomasWest IndiesFast Bowler
kesrick-williamsKesrick WilliamsWest IndiesFast Bowler
hayden-walsh-jrHayden Walsh JrWest IndiesSpin Bowler
ashley-nurseAshley NurseWest IndiesSpin Bowler
khary-pierreKhary PierreWest IndiesSpin Bowler
jomel-warricanJomel WarricanWest IndiesSpin Bowler
rawl-lewisRawl LewisWest IndiesManager
jimmy-adamsJimmy AdamsWest IndiesDirector
phil-simmonsPhil SimmonsWest IndiesHead Coach

ICC Test Ranking 2020